These are some my tips that I commonly use in my workflow that always boost my workflow. It makes everything flow smoother.

A lot of these come down to shortcuts and other tools. Some of these bits of advice can be found on different DAW but you will have to discover your specific DAW.

I’ve use these tips on many of previous projects.

Use Shortcuts

You don’t realize it but sometimes there can be an easy way. I barely remember the beginning of using FL Studio but I do remember having to learn. Shortcuts. I needed to learn it.

There are shortcuts for all kinds of programs and they can often be a godsend. One way of learning the shortcuts on FL Studio is to simply print them out.

Have them with you while you work and use them as you need them.

View them and memorize them is another way. Or you can also simply look at the hint menu – which is located below the “File, Edit, Add,” Bar and there should be a hint revealing the hint behind the function that your are doing.

I would recommended learning you DAW, even if you don’t have FL Studio. If you want to become a master at anything you got to know it like it’s your own limb.

Here is a full list of shortcuts.

“Make Unique”

This perhaps one of my most commonly used tactic. Let me give you an instance of how I use this. Let’s say I have a melody that I want to use.

If you are creating simple melodies they can easily be transpoed by clicking “Make Unique” on the patterns in the playlist.

The reason I do this is because it makes a carbon copy of the pattern I want to use.

The reason for having a copy is that it lets you adjust, edit and transpose a new pattern without having to copy and paste it into the pattern.

This is really effective with drum patterns as well.

FL studio make uniqueFl studio Clone for futher editing

Clone Channel

This allow you to have another instance of the same instrument. Which can be handy if you want to adjust velocities, tones, and timbres from the same instrument, while recreating in a different piano roll.

You can add an assortment of complicated and modified synths from one cloned channel and have them evolve as you clone them. It can allow for some interesting flow and improves your workflow.

I believe cloning the channel response time and ability to load the plugin feels quicker. Plus you also get to adjust a synthesizer from where you left off or you can just create again from scratch.

Name Your Tracks and Mix

This is something that I sometimes override. As I’m make music in a fairly fast pace. My mind tends to organize all of the sounds that are happening.

All of the effects that are being processed and all the sounds that have been cloned and edited.Rename fl studioThe reality is I don’t always name my track when I’m creating them as it kind of splits the creative part with trying to commit to something that is more logically task based.

I’ll typically set up my meat and bones and project before settling on the mix. But once I start reaching more than 16 tracks on the mixer I’m going to have to start writing what is what.

You can generally get an idea where things are happening visually on the mixer board.

But it’s best to know where things are connected and to also name the instruments that are in your patterns, as it can get really complicated if use a lot overdubs and a juggernaut of sounds.

This can help you get organized as well as improve your workflow.

Rename fl studio mixer
F2!

Riff Machine

I rarely use this as the majority of the music is from the top of my head. But if you want to explore rhythmical, melodic, arpeggiated ideas – it’s an invaluable source.

“Throw the dice” and see what kind of unique patterns you can explore. This is a really good tool. It shows you the ideas that you should think about when you are not using it ie. Progression, Chord, Arp, Mirroring melody, Levels/Velocity/Volume, Groove etc.

I do not run very dry of ideas but if you really need a kick start.

I’d recommend exploring some of the progressions and understanding how some of the patterns create different interests with minor adjustments. It will help your present work and future work.

Save Your Presets

This one seems like common sense. But if you have a beautiful patch for mixer slot save that sucker! You can use it next time.

On FL Studio you can save mixer states and you can also save effects presets so that you work off or tweak for a later track.

I still have some presets that I’ve adjust from previous version of FL and I find them reloaded into the latest versions. This will make your flow extremely fast.

Especially if you work with similar sounding projects.

Thank you.

Check out my latest electronica releases on bandcamp:
Dark Techno, IDM/Synthpop, Ambient, Industrial

►Connect with me:
►Youtube: http://youtube.com/c/JunoNova
►Bandcamp: http://novaspire.bandcamp.com
►Soundcloud: http://soundcloud.com/novaspire
►Facebook: http://facebook.com/iNovaspire
►Instagram https://www.instagram.com/nova.spire/

