After doing a routine for a long while, the grind becomes repetitive and variety feels like it gets a hold of you. But though your routine is set in stone, there’s always room evolving and modifying segments that can help in feeling a pump.

For myself, I found that working the Shoulder (Deltoids) the muscles become immune to the beating that you want to throw at it very fast. The body adapts. You adapt. You may be grinding every week and not seeing any shape, you eat right and get your protein right but there is nothing moving.

Some fitness “experts” that lift and aim to put on muscle mass always teach you to not follow the mentality of “No Pain, No Gain.” I feel that this caps people and it is limiting in a sense.

Within reason, people should understand that quotation. If you do not burn until you feel a thick sweat, if you don’t feel discomfort, there’s grounds to question what the heck you are doing.

Overload

This temporary discomfort is the key to entering the phase of a better body.

You can get a decent, in shape body with body-weight-exercises, you don’t need weight to break down your body to build it up again.

While you may not experience the typical delayed onset muscle soreness, you may be skeptical when you aren’t experiencing complete changes to your body.

I can easily see this as a security and precaution by Personal Trainers when they are starting out with a client. They work light and fair. Keeping people in a slow gradual burning mode. It’s good insurance for beginners.

But I disagree with people that say you can’t make gains if you are overworking your muscle. Coming from the perspective of my training over the years and just witnessing other people in gyms. And talking to some people that train.

Quick story time. When I was a kid, say 10 years old, I would do push-ups daily and every day I would gain strength. I would pump out more and more reps. When I stopped doing this as a daily routine the strength did not return to the same original amount repetitions I could hammer out. I’d ask, What gives? But it was logical. I lost the edge because I stopped doing it. I have a hard time believing that overloading the muscle in one day can tire somebody out. Obviously you want to prevent yourself from hardcore injuries. But do exhaust the muscle.

Maintenance

It doesn’t get any easier to exhaust the muscle, but it does get easier to maintain if you choose to have a fairer workout. Perhaps when I get older, I may reduce the exertion. But not yet.

Today, what I do on occasion, I will workout early in the morning and again later during the evening. I was joking with a friend, that it makes it possible whenever we feel lackadaisical, or we haven’t accomplished what we wanted in the day, it can be rectified later.

https://www.flickr.com/photos/ketugajjar/5364875597

If I feel a body part was not completely exhausted in the morning and if I still have the energy to disperse. I will hammer away and chip what needs to be done.

While I can’t speak for everyone, but what I noticed for myself is that my body can take an unbelievable load of abuse before it breaks down. If you have been training for a solid year, your load will be much longer, and your vitality ever stronger.

If I want to workout a major muscle group like that from my 5 staples,

I would be less likely to repeat, but I would isolate the muscles from that area. For instance if I deadlift in the morning and still have the energy. I’ll do several pull-ups later.

In some instances, the staples affect the central nervous system with how powerful the movement is. The deadlift is such an example, Thus I will work isolating the Lats and work on the width of my back by doing pullups. It’s not as intensive as the deadlift but it’s defintely adding to the quantity and quality of the workout for the entire day.

Final Thoughts

Working out is one of the only forms of positive self-abuse. You build the body up, by breaking it down shredding it up, then you recuperate. It’s poetry of the body.

I believe you can get strong by unconventionally overloading the muscle. I may be sore the next day, my legs feeling like noodles, my back feeling like it got runned over by a train. But so what? You got to pay a price for the things you want. Whether that’s how you want to look and feel or anything else in life.

Stay Fit!

