Self-awareness via Wiki:  
the capacity for introspection and the ability to recognize oneself as an individual separate from the environment and other individuals.

When I see people shuffling through malls, its really weird for me when coming from the other side of town, making music slightly away from civilization, but I still notice that more people are becoming zombies, frankly.

There is lack of consciousness, self-awareness and dignity.

I noticed this whether it’s from phone/internet usage, people’s mannerisms, appearance and or body language.

The more I take a break from it all, the more bizarre I feel it to be.

I don’t believe it is a mere local thing when it comes to the smartphone aspect, or a cultural thing, it is global. Since our technologies are built abundantly, they are more readily available and provided everywhere in the world. This is occurring everywhere. It is a monoculture.

I have attributed this to people that are exclusively addicted to the internet before. But It is more than simply the internet.

In some parts of my city it is perhaps more common to see dolts lumbering around. But you begin to wonder if people are playing a contest of who can be the dirtiest and sloth around with the least amount of dignity.

texting-postureOr if they walk out of their home so eager and hopeful to be called out by somebody to play a victim role, by merely dressing poorly.

I don’t believe this has anything to do with poverty necessarily. Understand, you can still look and carry yourself with decency.

People simply don’t look presentable. If you want to be treated like a dirtbag, you just have to dress like a dirtbag. You are setting yourself up as a target. People don’t seem to understand that.

It is known as the halo effect.

The halo effect is a cognitive bias in which an observer’s overall impression of a person, company, brand, or product influences the observer’s feelings and thoughts about that entity’s character or properties. It was named by psychologist Edward Thorndike in reference to a person being perceived as having a halo.

I can even understand in some subcultures, people can have their own style, yet they still pull something decent off. But there are people who choose not to and do not even wear the body language that breeds anything presentable, so it is a double negative.

I see zero effort.

In the summer, I went for a walk in my neighbourhood and 3 people were wearing pyjamas in a sunny daylight filled evening. One was mowing their front lawn!

It may be these people have a poor self-opinion of themselves. But I wish I could let them know that dressing poorly, walking with poor posture and being a zombie on one’s phone does not increase people’s opinion of you. Not one iota. If anything it probably decreases.

I saw a teen with a band T-shirt I enjoy. He had such poor posture, he looked like he had a kyphotic spine from looking at the ground and at his phone all the time.

I wanted to snap him out of it and let him know “I wouldn’t want to be associated with a fan like you, stand up straight and tall. Look like you mean business.” He was aimless, lifeless.

In a foreign country, these kinds of people would be easy targets for pick-pocketing, I assure you.  Poor posture, completely unaware of anything going on around them, skipping across the street and smiling around ear to ear to their new phone, while their wallets are on easy street to someone’s possession.

Posture

It’s something that your mom would instill in you, maybe. Stand up straight, keep your hands out of your pockets! Science keeps piling on the evidence that your posture affects how you relate to the world.

Your body language and posture will influence the way you think. Studies have found that improving your posture adjusts your hormone levels. With this hormonal association it also affects the way we form our decisions.

You can’t deny the influence of posture, at a quick snap of the fingers you can make judgement on someone or someone can make one of you.

This classic Superman film displays my point, in an almost humorous fashion. We have Clark Kent, who seems to change his body language at the drop of a hat, in preparation to become Superman! An incredible difference!

No disrespect to nerd’s or people that get picked on or anything like that. But if they understood the science and mechanics behind changing their body language and posture, they would surely be more apt to modify it.

There is nothing appealing about terrible posture. You simply look like a victim, people will box you, categorize you and treat you as such. It is easily recognizable as a submissive pose. It is disempowering.

Here’s another interesting ted-talk on the matter. You will come to understand how empowering great posture and body language is in your day-to-day life.

Amy Cuddy: Your body language shapes who you are

After viewing that video, I immediately started correcting my posture. What I once thought would seem like an exaggerated pose of posture, feels all the more natural in my day-to-day.

To a stranger the posture will seem normal. It looks better with muscle too. You can probably even get away with exaggerating a bit ha, like Superman.

It commands attention and respect.

Now, when I’m not in a good posture, it feels like I’m exaggerating my old habits of poor posture.

Fix your posture, be presentable, don’t be “awkward”.

Until the next one.

Please share this link if you think it may be of use for someone. Follow me by adding your email on the right sidebar and stay up-to-date with my various blog posts!

